2016

Hey there 2016.

You creeped up quite fast.

Most people see a new year as just a new day. To me it means so much more, it’s a new feeling, it’s refreshing, it’s a way to let go and receive a sense of newness.

As I dig into my heart and really lean on 2015 I can say it was difficult. Difficult in almost all areas of my life.

The book The road less Traveled by M. Scott Peck has a great statement:

                Life is difficult. This is a great truth, one of the greatest truths. It is a great truth because once we truly see this truth, we transcend it. Once we truly know that life is difficult- once we truly understand and accept it- then life is no longer difficult.

This quote can change our paradigm. Instead of expecting life to be easy, we can be prepared for challenges when they inevitably come.

I wouldn’t change any events that happened in 2015, but I could say I would change the way they happened, but no matter how many times I have my plan in my head God shows me that im not in control and in fact He is.

Lincoln was born and Jeremiah 29:11  suited his life so well.

“For I know the plans I have for you declares the lord, plans to prosper and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. “

Little did I know that would also be my verse I find hope in.

If I had to assign a word to last year it would be hope.

Hope

                A feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen.

                 A feeling of expectation and desire for Lincoln to be healed.

                A feeling of trust.

                 A feeling of trust in God to fulfill his promise.

 

Hope is the only thing stronger than fear.

                The Lord is my light and my salvation-whom shall I fear?  The LORD is the stronghold on my life-of whom should I be afraid. Psalm 27:1

This life can beat us down with trials, sorrows, and debilitating worries. When it seems hopeless, Gods messages about our future hope can deeply encourage us.

The LORD your God in your midst, the Mighty One, will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing. Zephaniah 3:17

Read that again.

The LORD your God in your midst, the Mighty One, will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing. Zephaniah 3:17

He sure has given me gladness.

I can admit I was in a deep, dark, scary, hopeless place and God rescued me like he always does.

I say with joy I have found hope.

I could replay everything that happened last year but instead I’m going to look forward to this year.

Some big changes may or may not be coming our way for The Berry family in the next couple of months, im excited to see what God has in store for us.

Im leaning on His path, instead of my own.

Instead of making new years resolutions we are going to pick ONE word. This process provides clarity by taking all your big plans for life change and narrowing them down into single focus.

My word for 2016 is

Peace. “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14:27

Adams is courage. “Have I not commanded you to Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9

I think its pretty neat when you think about the two words together- Peace and Courage. How fitting for each other. Man I love my husband!

 

The days are long, but the years are short, so enjoy every moment while you have it, even the not-so-enjoyable ones.

Hug your family tight today, say a prayer for the New Year, and embrace your peace.

Bye Bye 2015!

IMG_6160IMG_8576Baby-23IMG_8602KaceBphotography  edit2bw4KaceBphotography-49KaceBphotography-302KaceBphotography _-62KaceBphotography-11KaysieBerryPhotography-8

One thought on “2016

  1. I shouldn’t have read this while sitting alone at Starbucks on my lunch hour! Fighting today keep from crying! God bless you and your precious family in 2016. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

